Sunday 29 March 2015

Home Graphical | News Text | Powerboat-World | Cruising Oz | Cruising USA | Cruising Canada | BoatsPlus | SW Aus | Sail-World EU | Photo Gallery | FishingBoating | Newsletter Subscription Here | Search Sail-World -- ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year - Echegoyen, Pumariega and Toro

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year - Echegoyen, Pumariega and Toro    
Fri, 12 Oct 2012

Spain's Tamara Echegoyen, Angela Pumariega and Sofia Toro tore apart the women's match racing form book at the London 2012 Olympic Sailing Competition to claim gold in spectacular style.

Their no holds barred approach and fearless style of match racing in the high pressure Olympic sailing environment saw the Spaniards, ranked number eight in the world, sail an emphatic round robin series where they picked up key victories against pre-event favourites. Thrown in at the deep end on the opening day, they breezed through their matches against 2010 ISAF Women's Match Racing World Champion Lucy Macgregor (GBR) and world number one Anna Tunnicliffe and never looked back.

Light work was made of the experienced Claire Leroy (FRA) in the Quarter Finals and they overturned an early loss against Ekaterina Skudina (RUS) in the Semi Finals. They squared up against the Australian team in an epic big wind final where they elements played as much a part of the drama as their opponents.

The pendulum swung back and forth as the crews entertained 5,000 expectant spectators on the Nothe. With the scores locked at 2-2 it all came down to a nail biting winner takes all decider and Echegoyen, Pumariega and Toro held their nerve to take the ultimate prize.

Joining Echegoyen, Pumariega and Toro as female nominees for ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2012 are Helena Lucas (GBR), Saskia Sills (GBR) and Lijia Xu (CHN).

The winners are selected by the ISAF Member National Authorities (MNAs), the national governing bodies for sailing around the world. The MNAs are now invited to vote for the male and female nominee they believe most deserves the Award.

The winners will be announced at the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards presentation and dinner, taking place on Tuesday 6 November 2012. The venue for the event is the Mansion House in Dublin, Ireland.

Each winner will be presented with the prestigious ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award Trophy and a distinctive Rolex timepiece.

Echegoyen Pumariega Toro WSOY profile
ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards website


Our advertisers are committed to our sport, please support them! (Graphics)
Contact us , ph: +61 2 8006 1873, , fax: +61 2 8076 0459 or complete our feedback form. View our Privacy Policy. Photographs are copyright by law, if you wish to use a photograph from, please Contact us. [Go Home(Graphics)]
Make Australia my default page.    Make Cruising International my default page.  Make Cruising Australia my default page.  Make Asia my default page.   Make New Zealand my default page.   Make UK my default page.   Make USA my default page.  

Visit another region : Sail-World Australia    Sail-World Cruising International   Sail-World Cruising Australia   Sail-World Asia   Sail-World New Zealand   Sail-World UK   Sail-World USA