2010 Rolex Big Boat Series    

St. Francis Yacht Club
Thu, 16 Sep 2010 at 11:00 to Sun, 19 Sep 2010

98 boats will be competing.
The Rolex Big Boat Series – celebrating its 46th year in 2010 – annually attracts many worldcaliber sailors, all of whom are eager to win one of the six specially engraved Rolex timepieces, given to the winners of the St. Francis Yacht Club’s Perpetual Trophies.

In 2004, the St. Francis Yacht Club initiated the use of the IRC handicap formula for entries 35 feet or longer and by 2009 the regatta doubled as the Rolex US-IRC National Championship.

Additionally, many popular one-design classes compete using their respective class rules.

In 1964, young Bob ‘RC’ Keefe convinced Commodore Stan Natcher that the St. Francis YC should create a series to showcase big boat yachting talent from around the world. Jim Wilhite’s S&S 63 yawl Athene won the St. Francis Perpetual Trophy in this first year, and when in 1968 another division was needed to accommodate the increase in participants, the newly created City of San Francisco Trophy was awarded to Theo Stephens’ S&S 47 Alpha.

In 1972, another perpetual trophy – the Richard Rheem Trophy – was added to the competition, and was awarded to Bill Clute’s yellow Ericson 39 Chiquita. The fourth perpetual, the Keefe-Kilborn Memorial Trophy, was added in 1976 and awarded to Lucian Taylor’s Peterson 40 Racy. In 1978 (with a then-record 46 entries), the Atlantic Trophy was added and was won by Bill Sullivan’s Peterson 43 Blue Norther. In 2004, the Commodore’s Cup was added to the list of trophies and is now awarded to the largest one-design fleet in the Series. The inaugural trophy was won by Chris Perkins & Dave Wilson’s J/105 Good Timin’.

Big Boat Series has witnessed the “glory days” of IOR racing; over the years, it has accommodated the inclusion of Maxis, Sleds, and America’s Cup Class boats. This event has marked the explosion of one-design classes. It survived the 80’s ups and downs, and it soared in numbers of entries in the 90’s to reach a record 115 entries in 2003. The series was shortened in 1990 from its previous weeklong format to its current schedule of seven races over four days.

Against the dramatic backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island in picturesque San Francisco Bay, competition is guaranteed to be fierce and intense in pursuit of the champion’s title.

St. Francis Yacht Club

Click for further information on this event: http://www.rolexbigboatseries.com/

Our advertisers are committed to our sport, please support them!
This site and its contents are © Copyright sail-world.com and powerboat-world.com. All Rights Reserved. Contact us , ph: +61 2 8006 1873, , fax: +61 2 8076 0459 or complete our feedback form. View our Privacy Policy. Photographs are copyright by law, if you wish to use a photograph from www.sail-world.com or www.marinebusiness-world.com or www.powerboat-world.com, please Contact us.
[Go Home]    [Archive News]   [Events List]